Meet Maria

 House is undergoing renovations. 

img_7518
Puppy, a nervous wreck. (“Help! Where’s my spot?”)
img_7493
Sleep tight, Claire! Overnight guest beds down with paint pots by front door

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Clouds of dust, pails of paint –

img_7479
Inside the coat closet

I gasp, run for IPad.  Just remembered something …

Tap. Click.  Got it!

img_7476
Take a look at this …

… something Daughter said eight years ago.

Flashback to …

Several dark months when light in home is dimmed while Mother (me) undergoes treatment for late-detected breast cancer. Pretty much confined to bed.  A simple journey to the bathroom and back is long, exhausting.  Endless pilgrimages to hospital and clinics.  Can’t do much else besides.   Completely sapped of strength.

One day Daughter says –

“I guess God allows the pit to get so deep, so we can see how high his ladder can go …”

Bingo!

img_7475
How high can it go?
img_7639
Not high enough.  

img_7415

_20150606_221832
Grammatically incorrect t-shirt!

Words to heal or kill- power of tongue to build up or destroy …

 

 

Perspective alters instantly.  Pit is deep, very deep – yes – but ladder goes high, so high.  Begin to count blessings.  Endless list.  

People who love and care –  

  • Husband, Daughters, Family, Friends, Church (Kitchen lies idle. Meals come in unsolicited for seven months straight.
img_20161019_182842697
Puppy, constant companion.  If eyes could heal ..
  • Maureen, who accompanies me to chemo sessions, sees me safely into house, remains awhile in driveway crying for me before driving away. 
  • Brother-In-Law, Jonathan, who spends 4 hours a day for a week, driving me to radiation through freezing rain and snow storms, so exhausted husband can have a break..
  • Puppy’s unwavering eyes on me. Doesn’t move from my bedside. (Never wanted a dog.  Can’t do without him now)   
  • Top notch medical care. Stellar surgeon and oncologist.
  • Knowing that everything happens for a reason.
  • Prayer.  Someone IS listening.

Etc. Etc. Etc.

img_20150927_010612

Husband wakes up each morning and says, “Good morning gorgeous!”

I cry the first time I hear him.  I’m grey,   bloated,  bald as an egg.  

He isn’t joking.

img_20161019_144857356
He’s my man

_20150621_121156                                       

   

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Maria –

img_4075

I see Maria one morning at the chemo ward.   A pretty woman.  She begins to cry when the needle is inserted into her vein.  My heart aches.  In two weeks she’ll be as bald and as I am, with black nails and all the awful trimmings.  I don’t want her to suffer as I have. 

I place a hand on Maria’s and murmur, “You’ll be all right.”

She says, “How do you do it?”    img_20150801_202032

“You wake up each morning and ask for strength for the day.  At night say ‘thank you’ for the grace that took you through. Live one day at a time.  Don’t think about tomorrow.  It’s too frightening.”

We meet every three weeks at the hospital, talk on the phone.  Dark moments.  Shared strength.

Maria makes it.  So do I.  Sisters. There’s something about shared suffering.  Eight cancer-free years for us both this year.  Oncologist tells me I’m one of her success stories.

How high the ladder goes …

img_20161016_210119

img_4066
Celebration time.  Hyrrah for Maria!         

_20150706_220140

_20150710_103346                                                   Pink ribbons for breast cancer awareness

 Detest the wig.  Makes me itch, gets into eyes –

img_20161019_203532
Unloved.  Hardly used the wig.

Husband wears it to sixties hippy-themed costume birthday party some weeks back!

img_7168
Happy Hippy Husband.  Despised wig finally comes in useful!

img_20161013_203008
That’s my man!

 

 

 

 

Won’t ever forget that moment when head feels scratchy. Realize hair’s growing back.

What a feeling …

………………………………………………………………………………

Gorgeous full moon last week.  

Playing hide-and-seek over neighbour’s roof …

Roses still blooming in Garden –

_20150702_204253

img_20161013_194628

img_20161015_200545

img_20161013_182402536_hdr
                                                                                              Standing tall.  Me in a puddle of sunshine.

img_20150801_211446

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hope is a precious thing.  Joy is priceless.  

Until next time,

sincerely

PS: The pictures in this post are all clicks from my IPad and phone.  Please share your thoughts and leave a comment.  Thank you for dropping in. 

img_7585
A dog’s life. Puppy sleeps in. 

img_20160502_213406

7 thoughts on “Meet Maria

  1. Hi, Sonali, This is wonderful, my darling. You are a great and blessed example for anyone struggling in this position. I have just been able to read it through and what a powerful message you send. Tell David he looks cute in the wig! Hope you had a great time at the party, and hope the renovations are progressing beautifully. Send some more pictures when it’s done. Love you, beautiful girl, blessings to you and hugs, Giddy xxxx >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This brought tears to my eyes, tears for your struggle and tears for your perseverance. Breast cancer took my Aunt Jane from us too soon. She was beautiful inside and out, I miss her more each day. Thankful for your post. You are beautiful and courageous, and your strength shines through in your writing!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Selina, your post was so moving and your words speak of your faith and courage. You are an inspiration. You need to write and spread this love and support so that all those wonderful women who feel lost and hopeless. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

